Happy Release Day – THE ODDS OF GETTING EVEN!

sueheck

I’m excited to join in the celebration for the release of Sheila Turnage’s new book, THE ODDS OF GETTING EVEN!

oddsofgettingeven

 

Fans of Mo and Dale already know how crazy good the last two books were, and the latest installment is garnering RAVE reviews.

The Reviews:

From Kirkus ( A STARRED review)

The author gracefully weaves a laundry list of characters with a plot that has a lot of moving pieces, and she does it with charm and humor, hitting the sweet spot for young readers searching for more-complex tales but not ready to leave the silly behind.

As always, Turnage’s tale is full of heart and perfect for reading on a front porch. (Mystery. 8-12)

From Booklist (Another STARRED review)

“Another rewarding adventure. . . narrated by Mo in her distinctive, imaginative voice. The writing lulls you with laughter, then occasionally blindsides you with unexpected tenderness.”

This looks like another fun adventure.

The Blurb:

Humor and action abound in this second follow-up to the Newbery honor winner and New York Times bestseller, Three Times Lucky

The trial of the century has come to Tupelo Landing, NC. Mo and Dale, aka Desperado Detectives, head to court as star witnesses against Dale’s daddy–confessed kidnapper Macon Johnson. Dale’s nerves are jangled, but Mo, who doesn’t mind getting even with Mr. Macon for hurting her loved ones, looks forward to a slam dunk conviction–if everything goes as expected.
Of course nothing goes as expected. Macon Johnson sees to that. In no time flat, Macon’s on the run, Tupelo Landing’s in lockdown, and Dale’s brother’s life hangs in the balance. With Harm Crenshaw, newly appointed intern, Desperado Detectives are on the case. But it means they have to take on a tough client–one they’d never want in a million years.

For everyone who’s already fallen for Mo and Dale, and for anyone who’s new to Tupelo Landing, The Odds of Getting Even is a heartwarming story that perfectly blends mystery and action with more serious themes about family and fathers, all without ever losing its sense of humor.

The Author:

Author Sheila Turnage photographed here by Rodney L. Beasley
Author Sheila Turnage photographed here by Rodney L. Beasley

Sheila Turnage grew up on a farm in eastern North Carolina. A graduate of East Carolina University, she authored two nonfiction books and one picture book before she started writing about Mo LoBeau and Dale. Three Times Lucky is a Newbery Honor book, a New York Times bestseller, an Edgar Award Finalist, an E. B. White Read-Aloud Honor book, and was included on seven Best Book of the Year lists. The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing, the follow-up to Three Times Lucky, is also a New York Times bestseller and has so far garnered five starred reviews. Today Sheila lives on a farm with her husband, a dozen chickens, and a flock of guineas.

The Details:

THE ODDS OF GETTING EVEN is available beginning today and I am getting my copy pronto! If you are so inclined (and why wouldn’t you be??) the Amazon link is HERE.


One Comment

  1. I’m so glad I saw this!!! And I can’t believe I forgot the third book was coming out soon. (I blame it on Fall brain) 😉 I can’t wait to read all about Mo and Dale’s third set of adventures!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *